FREE Printable!

Download 147 FREE Aesop’s Fables!

Click to get your Aesop’s Fables for FREE!

Disclosure:  This page may contain affiliate links.  When you click a link and purchase an item, we may earn a commission at no cost to you.  Read our full disclosure here.



Aesop's Fables - 78 THE FARMER AND HIS SONS

A rich old farmer, who felt that he had not many more days to live, called his sons to his bedside.

“My sons,” he said, “heed what I have to say to you. Do not on any account part with the estate that has belonged to our family for so many generations. Somewhere on it is hidden a rich treasure. I do not know the exact spot, but it is there, and you will surely find it. Spare no energy and leave no spot unturned in your search.”

The father died, and no sooner was he in his grave than the sons set to work digging with all their might, turning up every foot of ground with their spades, and going over the whole farm two or three times.

No hidden gold did they find; but at harvest time when they had settled their accounts and had pocketed a rich profit far greater than that of any of their neighbors, they understood that the treasure their father had told them about was the wealth of a bountiful crop, and that in their industry had they found the treasure.

Industry is itself a treasure.

Books to LOVE:

Five Children and It by E. Nesbit is a grand adventure for all!

Edith Nesbit is known as “the first modern writer for children.”

Her writing has influenced many authors such as C.S. Lewis, Arthur Ransome, Edward Eager and she is known to be one of J.K. Rowling’s favorite authors.

It was Edith’s poetry that was first recognized and published before she moved into writing children’s stories for a monthly magazine.

Her earliest publications include The Story of the Treasure Seekers in 1899, followed by the sequels, The Wouldbegoods in 1901 and The New Treasure Seekers in 1904.

Five Children and It was first published as short stories in a monthly magazine in 1902.

Later that year, Edith developed these stories even further, combining them into a novel and eventually writing a trilogy. Five Children and It being the first novel in a trilogy, followed by The Phoenix and the Carpet in 1904 and The Story of the Amulet in 1906.

She is also famous for her writing of The Railway Children in 1906 and many of her books have been made into television series and movies.

Kids LOVE these books!

You can

BUY the Five Children and It book here

READ Five Children and It for FREE here

LISTEN to Five Children and It for FREE here

Resources to LOVE:

FREEBIES – FREE Printable Curriculum! – Makes Reading & Writing Fun! – BEST online Math Curriculum!